curacao opening to three states

The tiny Caribbean island nation of Curaçao is opening its borders to American travelers this week, but they might not be the American travelers you’d expect to see visiting on vacation. The country has approved travelers from three specific states.

US citizens from New York, Connecticut, and New Jersey are now able to dip their toes in the clear blue waters and sip cocktails on Curaçao’s stunning beaches. People from the tri-state area will simply have to show a negative COVID-19 test that was taken within 72 hours of travel to enjoy all that Curaçao has to offer. They’ll also have to fill out an online immigration card and Passenger Locator Card within 2 days of departure.

The Curaçao Tourism Board says that flights from Newark will be resuming on November 7, 2020. They’ll be operated by United Airlines from that airport, and then in December even more options will be available. The plan for December is to have two flights per week leaving JFK, operated by JetBlue.

Governor Cuomo will still be requiring New York residents to quarantine for 2 weeks upon returning from Curaçao. We’ll keep you updated as this story develops.